Welcome to Glasgow Bowling Association

President: James Inglis   Vice President: Gerry  Harte
Hon Secretary/Treasurer: Jim Ryan


At a meeting on Friday the 23rd March 1888 of the committee of representatives of the Glasgow Bowling Clubs the idea of forming an Association was discussed.

G C A McNaught of Shawlands BC was appointed chairman of the meeting. “The Chairman stated that he had been approached by several influential bowlers on the subject of the formation of a proper “ Bowlers Association” as the present Association, such as it is, is without a proper organisation and without any constitution. That he has, therefore, taken the trouble to prepare what he considered might be adopted as Bye Laws for the Constitution of such an Association, which Bye Laws he had caused to be printed, and a copy sent to each Member of Committee, and that he had requested the Secretary to call this meeting for consideration of these rules with a view to their being remitted to a General Meeting of Representatives of the various Bowling Clubs for their discussion, and, if so resolved, for their adoption. “

The Secretary, James Smith of Wellcroft BC, was “ instructed to send a printed copy of the proposed Bye Laws to the secretaries of each of the Glasgow Bowling Clubs and to call a special General Meeting of Representatives of these clubs to be held within the Religious Institution Rooms on Wednesday the eighteenth day of April next at 2 Oclock P M to consider and if so resolved to adopt these or other such Bye Laws and decide……… “ On Wednesday 18 April 1888 at a Special General Meeting of the Representatives of the Glasgow Bowling Clubs, Mr James Airlie of Albany BC proposed and was seconded by Mr W K Kelly of Whitevale BC that an Association be formed and called the Glasgow Bowling Association. The proposal was unanimously agreed.


The Glasgow Bowling Association was instituted with 22 member Clubs.

Bellahouston ;   Belvidere ;   Burnbank;   Hutchesontown ;   Partick ;   Pollokshaws ;   Queens Park ;   St Rollox ; St Vincent ;   Shawlands ;   Springburn ;   Tollcross :   Wellcroft ;   Willowbank ;   Whitevale. Clubs now closed. Albany ;  Govan ;  Hillhead ;  Kingston ;  Pollokshields ;  Polmadie ;                               

1st Meeting

The first Annual General Meeting of the Glasgow Bowling Association took place on Wednesday 9th May 1888 and the office-bearers elected as follows:-

President : Nicol Cameron (Pollokshaws BC )   Vice-President : Hugh Walls (Kingston BC) Directors : Charles K Clark (Albany BC)   Thomas L Selkirk (Hillhead)       Murdoch McKenzie (Burnbank) W K Kelly (Whitevale)              Samuel Gunn (Pollokshields)    George Mitchell (Wellcroft) Daniel McClure (Bellahouston) Auditors : William Armour (Bridgeton)    James Airlie (Albany) Secretary : James Smith (Wellcroft)

Glasgow Bowling Association was now up and running.

Enquiries & Results 0141 576 0237    or   075  3322  1259